Long-Distance Running Training Calculator

Long-Distance Running Training Calculator

Long distance running is one of the most ancient and historically important human activities. It's not only our large brains that made us such a successful species. Our two legged walk (as opposed to most other mammals four legged walk), and our ability to sweat (to lose excess body heat), has made us extremely good long-distance runners. People have even outrun horses in races over long distances.

A two legged walk is capable of less speed than a four legged walk, but it's much more efficient in terms of energy used up. Which gives us great endurance, and the ability to run down prey animals over long distances like our ancestors did. Long-distance running is perhaps the original and the most natural human sport.

This page displays a schedule of dates and distances you could use as a suggestion for training.

Long-Distance Running Training Calculator
Photo: Pixabay

Trail Running Shoes

Trail running shoes are similar to road running shoes but usually have better support, padding, and protection for your feet. They can be used for both trail running and road running (though they're slightly heavier and less optimised for hard surfaces than road running shoes).

Browse trail running shoes at Wild Earth

The Race Training Calculator

The table loads initially with dates for the next Sydney City to Surf fun run, and calculates training distances based on increasing your distance by 10% every week.

You can modify the fields for a different initial training distance, race distance, and date. The calculator increases the training distance gradually up to the full race distance one week before the race date.

Initial training distance (metres): (enter blank or zero for auto)

Event distance (metres):

Event date:

Training schedule for 13907 m race on Sunday, 12 August 2018, increasing distance by 10 percent each week.

Sunday 22 April 2018

  

3329 m

Sunday 29 April 2018

  

3662 m

Sunday 06 May 2018

  

4028 m

Sunday 13 May 2018

  

4431 m

Sunday 20 May 2018

  

4874 m

Sunday 27 May 2018

  

5362 m

Sunday 03 June 2018

  

5898 m

Sunday 10 June 2018

  

6488 m

Sunday 17 June 2018

  

7136 m

Sunday 24 June 2018

  

7850 m

Sunday 01 July 2018

  

8635 m

Sunday 08 July 2018

  

9499 m

Sunday 15 July 2018

  

10449 m

Sunday 22 July 2018

  

11493 m

Sunday 29 July 2018

  

12643 m

Sunday 05 August 2018

  

13907 m

Sunday 12 August 2018

     

13907 m

See Also

Browse trail running shoes at Wild Earth

Return to Health
Return to Site Map


distance msunday running training

Site by Long-Distance Running Training Calculator Linkworks® 2005-2018. Definitely read the disclaimer before trying anything from this website.

Long-Distance Running Training Calculator

Your Health

Website Index


Advertisement

Australia's #1 Outdoor Gear Store. Wild Earth stocks Australia's most comprehensive range of hiking, camping and outdoor gear. Shop online today!


Most Popular


Latest Pages


Advertisements

Tentworld is the largest independent camping store in Australia.


Advertisements

Click to read reviews:




Click here for more self sufficiency and survival resources