Long-Distance Running Training Calculator - Calculates jogging/running training distances, increasing by 10% every week

Long-Distance Running Training Calculator

Long distance running is one of the most ancient and historically important human activities. It's not only our large brains that made us such a successful species. Our two legged walk (as opposed to most other mammals four legged walk), and our ability to sweat (to lose excess body heat), has made us extremely good long-distance runners. People have even outrun horses in races over long distances.

A two legged walk is capable of less speed than a four legged walk, but it's much more efficient in terms of energy used up. Which gives us great endurance, and the ability to run down prey animals over long distances like our ancestors did. Long-distance running is perhaps the original and the most natural human sport.

This page displays a schedule of dates and distances you could use as a suggestion for training.

Long-Distance Running Training Calculator
Photo: Pixabay

Trail Running Shoes

Trail running shoes are similar to road running shoes but usually have better support, padding, and protection for your feet. They can be used for both trail running and road running (though they're slightly heavier and less optimised for hard surfaces than road running shoes).

The Race Training Calculator

The table loads initially with dates for the next Sydney City to Surf fun run, and calculates training distances based on increasing your distance by 10% every week.

You can modify the fields for a different initial training distance, race distance, and date. The calculator increases the training distance gradually up to the full race distance one week before the race date.

Initial training distance (metres): (enter blank or zero for auto)

Event distance (metres):

Event date:

Training schedule for 13907 m race on Sunday, 08 August 2021, increasing distance by 10 percent each week.

Sunday 18 April 2021

  

3329 m

Sunday 25 April 2021

  

3662 m

Sunday 02 May 2021

  

4028 m

Sunday 09 May 2021

  

4431 m

Sunday 16 May 2021

  

4874 m

Sunday 23 May 2021

  

5362 m

Sunday 30 May 2021

  

5898 m

Sunday 06 June 2021

  

6488 m

Sunday 13 June 2021

  

7136 m

Sunday 20 June 2021

  

7850 m

Sunday 27 June 2021

  

8635 m

Sunday 04 July 2021

  

9499 m

Sunday 11 July 2021

  

10449 m

Sunday 18 July 2021

  

11493 m

Sunday 25 July 2021

  

12643 m

Sunday 01 August 2021

  

13907 m

Sunday 08 August 2021

     

13907 m

See Also

Return to Health
Return to Site Map

Share This Page


distance running training

Website by Long-Distance Running Training Calculator - Calculates jogging/running training distances, increasing by 10% every week Linkworks®. Content is copyright © Survival.org.au 2005-2021. Terms of Use. Definitely read the disclaimer before trying anything from this website, especially including the practices and skills.

Long-Distance Running Training Calculator - Calculates jogging/running training distances, increasing by 10% every week

Your Health

Website Index


Popular Pages


Newest Pages


Advertisement

Tentworld is the largest independent camping store in Australia.


Click here for more self sufficiency and survival resources